(Fool’s) Golden Age of Television?

Image

“My man.” -Denzel voice

With the upcoming spin-off of Vince Gilligan’s “Breaking Bad,” entitled “Better Call Saul,” and the news of a possible “The Walking Dead” spin-off being whispered about, AMC clearly plans on establishing itself as the forty-niner with the biggest beard in this, the “Golden Age of Television.”

That’s fine. But spin-offs? That’s risky business, and not the pantless Tom Cruise kind. Nothing risky about that business. For every “Angel” there are a couple “Saved by the Bell” spin-offs. For every “Law & Order: SVU” there’s a “Law & Order: LA.” For every “Xena: Warrior Princess” there’s a “Joey.” Clearly I can go on and on, but you get the point. Spin-offs are a huge gamble.

America loved these dudes. Just not that much.

America loved these dudes. Just not that much.

What confuses me most of all is that if anyone knows anything about the spin-off gamble it’s the “Breaking Bad” creator himself, Vince Gilligan. “The X-Files” is a great show. The Lone Gunmen were great in “The X-Files.” “The Lone Gunmen” is a great…. disappointment.  Is “Better Call Saul” Vince Gilligan’s second attempt at catching his White Rhino? The millions of dollars he’ll collect will be the perfect tissues to blot his tears if “Better Call Saul” flops, but it can’t all be about the money for him. In this, “The Golden Age of Television,” I find it hard to believe that AMC could not find new programs that would be awesome, entertaining, and suspenseful and had to instead look to their cash cows for one last milking.

I’m still going to watch “Better Call Saul” and “The Walking Dead” spin-off it if ever comes to fruition. I’m a huge fan of both shows (who isn’t?) and I’m a big fan of Vince Gilligan, but I approach the upcoming premiere with great trepidation.

Thoughts? Trolls? Thought Trolls? Holla@me! Comment below or tweet me @jklolitscr (I never look at Twitter, so I’ll just assume there are hundreds of tweets sent my way).

3 Comments

Filed under Rant, TV Show News

3 responses to “(Fool’s) Golden Age of Television?

  1. I’m looking forward to Better Call Saul, but have my doubts.

  2. Jack

    IF this is the Goldenage of Anything. Its Sitting on your ass getting fat while watch one serialized episode after another. People use to do things like go the outside.

Comments?

