Workspace of Writers and Artists Part 1

A few months ago I sent out a number of emails to some of my favorite writers and artists in the Comic Book industry. I hoped to make a reoccurring blog feature that shows off some of their workspaces. We had a few awesome people nice enough to respond back and send pics, while some others I was able to find since they already had photos of their workspace available. Hopefully we can make this a monthly entry where we can have artists and writers show off their creative space. If you have anyone of interest that you would like to see, shoot me a comment at the bottom and I will get to work on getting in contact with them!

Kelly Sue DeConnick

Kelly Sue DeConnick looking migthy Marvelous

Kelly Sue DeConnick looking migthy Marvelous

Kelly Sue DeConnick

Kelly Sue DeConnick

First up we have the amazing Kelly Sue DeConnick, a comic book writer who has worked on such titles as Avengers Assemble and Ghost from Dark Horse. Her biggest hit, however, is the marvelous Captain Marvel! Her run lasted seventeen issues and in the span of those seventeen issues she gathered a huge following.  Be sure to check out her Tumblr for Carol Corps and/or Capitan Marvel.) I’ve never seen so many fans follow, cosplay, and get tattoos relating to Captain Marvel.

Anyway, I love her room. She has a pillow that I think many can relate to that says “Now panic and freak.” That sounds about right. She has a bunch of Ms. Marvel and Carol Danvers on top of her shelf, along with some Wonder Woman and what I think is a statue of Morticia Addams. Behind her desk, the only things I can recognize are a poster of her orginal comic called Pretty Deadly from Image Comics and a great framed pic of Spider-Woman. I have no idea what that satilate looking object on the floor is. I’m going to guess it’s a huge dish with very hot lights that keep your legs warm. Just a shot in the dark, what do I know.

Kelly has a new series coming out in 2014 called Bitch Planet with Valentine De Landro (X-factor) on board as an artist. $10 says it’s one of 2014’s biggest hits. Here is an excerpt from the Image official press release from this weekend:

(Courtesy from Image Comics)

(Courtesy from Image Comics)

“A science-fiction take on the Women in Prison exploitation feature, BITCH PLANET follows five prisoners on an all-female penal planet, ready to make their escape by way of a gladiatorial exhibition against a team of visiting male prisoners. DeConnick summed BITCH PLANET up with, “there are five women, all ridiculous and real, and all very different. One shouldn’t be there. The other four are unrepentant and guilty as Hell.”

Usefull links:

Kelly Sue DeConnick Twitter

Kelly Sue DeConnick Tumblr

Kelly Sue DeConnick Amazon

Carol Corps Tumblr

Valerio Schiti

Valerio Schiti looking smoother than a criminal

Valerio Schiti looking smoother than a criminal

Valerio Schiti

Valerio Schiti

You may know Valerio Schiti from his fantastic art on Journey Into Mystery #646 to #655 with Kathryn Immonen as writer. He worked on Avengers A.I. for a bit, but you can now see him starting February 5th as artist for Mighty Avengers Vol 2 #6. I’m pretty damn excited to see him getting more work and look forward to seeing him rise through the ranks. Also, YOU SEE THAT CHAIR?!? That has to be one of the most damn comfy chairs I’ve laid eyes on. I found my computer chair next to a polluted, irradiated Passaic River. It glowed green for a while and lit up my room in the night when the lights were off, but it was better than my last char, a fucking barstool (It’s also the reason I have a Super Butt, but I digress.)I also like to imagine Valerio wearing that sick Spider-Man mask while drawing in order to get in the costumed super hero mindset.

Sif design for "Journey Into Mystery #646"

Sif design for “Journey Into Mystery #646″ (Courtsey from Valerio Schiti Deviantart)

Jay-Rey loves Dr. Who, so thought I'd throw in this awesome pic. I don't know much about Dr. Who but it seems there is that Dr. Who guy with that pen shooting at those butt plug robots.

Jay-Rey loves Dr. Who, so thought I’d throw in this awesome pic. I don’t know much about Dr. Who but it seems there is that Dr. Who guy with that pen shooting at those butt plug robots. (Courtesy from Valerio Schiti Deviant Art)

FAN FUCKING TASTIC work! This is a commision Valerio Schiti did a few months back. After reading New Avengers, I've reallt started to fall in love with Black Bolt and his kingdom. Love the way he uses Medusa's hair to make it seem like drapes on the steps and on Black Bolt

FAN FUCKING TASTIC work! This is a commission Valerio Schiti did a few months back. After reading New Avengers, I’ve really started to fall in love with Black Bolt and his kingdom. Love the way he uses Medusa’s hair to make it seem like drapes on the steps and on Black Bolt (Featured on Valerio Shiti Tumblr)

You can find more of Valerio Schiti’s work here

Valerio Schiti Deviantart

Valerio Schiti Twitter

Valerio Schiti Tumblr

Valerio Schiti Amazon

Leinil Francis Yu

The dashing Leinil Francis Yu (From Comicvine)

The dashing Leinil Francis Yu (From Comicvine)

HOLY SHIT BALLS YOU SEE THIS PLACE

HOLY SHIT BALLS YOU SEE THIS PLACE. HE HAS AN IRONMAN (Taken from Leinil’s Tumblr)

I first experienced Leinil Francis Yu when I picked up Uncanny X-Force #20 by Rick Remender. I instantly fell in love with his work. I’m still not sure how to really describe his work, though. The best I can come up with is gritty, but at the same time smooth, with a mastery of facial expression and use of heroic and horrifying poses. His work on Superman: Birthright, written by Mark Waid, is one of my favorite works by him. The last 5 pages are heart-wrenching enough to tear your soul in two and make you thankful for everything you have in this world. His run on Avengers with Jonathan Hickman was amazing. He really helped add to the great set of books Infinity, making it one of my favorite comic events in the last few years! You see that room of his?! He has a freaking Iron-Man sitting in there. It’s the expensive ass bust of it, but once again, I’ll pretend that it’s something he wears in order to get in the head of our heroes. He has the biggest plethora of books on that shelf, Inglorious Bastards statues, Kingdom Come figures, Mass Effect 3, and reading American Vampire Vol 3, written by Scott Snyder, with Rafael Albuquerque and Sean Gordon Murphy as artists. This maybe my favorite workspace I’ve laid eyes on, but they’re all pretty rad<3.

1

Avengers Vol. 5 #23

2

Avengers Vol. 5 #18

Uncanny X-Force #20 pencil cover from Leinil Francis Yu's Deviantart

Uncanny X-Force #20 pencil cover from Leinil Francis Yu’s Deviantart

Leinil Francis Yu Deviantart

Leinil Francis Yu Tumblr

Leinil Francis Yu Twitter

Leinil Francis Yu Amazon

Hope you all enjoyed this feature. Hope that I can make this a monthly thing where we can show off various writers’ and artists’ work spaces.  Fans need to see where the magic happens!

Don’t forget to like our Facebook page for your chance to win a free copy of Monaco! 

1 Comment

Filed under Comic Book News

One response to “Workspace of Writers and Artists Part 1

  1. Pingback: DeConnick, Schiti show off their workspaces | Robot 6 @ Comic Book Resources – Covering Comic Book News and Entertainment

Comments?

